Shelves

They said it was over, they said we were wrong…

How did I get started?

with 3 comments

Still trying to figure out how the posting works over here at WordPress. Quite different from Blogger but I guess I should be able to get around to it…

Hmm…

But yeah, back to my point…how did I get started with Shelves?

Well, if I remember correctly, Noel asked me over Facebook if I’d be keen to be part of a band to record the bunch of songs he’s written. We met up, along with Mel & Karmal (of Stoned Revivals) & eventually found ourselves in a dimly-lit, funky-smelling studio off Outram. The first session was rough, but magical…coz at the first blast of fuzz coming outta the amps, I felt at home. And the songs Noel written are good. Not to sound flattering but really Noel has got quite a knack for melodies, & in his compositions there’s plenty. Brings me back to my love for Teenage Fanclub, Big Star etc.

In a way, I missed the rush of playing in a band again, having given that up in favour for church work (which involves me working as a musician for my church’s worship dept). I still play in a band, but it’s very different from playing in Livonia. The aim of the worship repertoire is pretty much straight-forward, which is to bring people to a place of worshipping Jesus, so the people’s attention are not on you as the musician (which lifts the ‘performance’ mentality off you) but on the music, the lyrics etc. There’s no need to psych yourself to ‘entertain’, to prove something. That load is off your back because by faith you know God’s gonna take over. The stressful part comes only when you make a mistake (esp when you’re the drummer), & people started to look at you, frowning like as if they’ve been awoken from some nice slumber. (I think Brian should be able to relate to this point, hahaha…)

But anyway, enough about that. Shelves fulfils my need to be creative again, musically. And I’m thankful to be part of it. Here’s wishing that we’ll be able to come out with that debut release soon.

Robin

Written by KiDG

June 28, 2009 at 1:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I never thought about that. That being in a church band is fundamentally that different. That the focus is on worship. Coz I often thought that you never really stopped playing in a band–but I think now it really can’t compare.

    Noel

    July 5, 2009 at 11:31 pm

  2. Playing in church is definitely different from playing in a secular band.

    But there are definitely lessons to learn in both church and secular playing.

    I guess one of the lessons i bring from church into secular music, is one of constant humility and just being thankful that we actually can make different kinds of music. So that even with some disappointment, it doesn’t make your world crumble all around.

    brian koh

    July 6, 2009 at 5:30 pm

  3. I agree, Brian…that whole part on being humbled when playing in a worship setting. Before I played in a church band, it was all about myself, wanting to prove something & to make a mark. After a while, it can get pretty tedious & tiring (not to mention disappointing) coz that search for perfection is never enough.

    I learnt a lot from church, be it being professional in learning on how to play, as well as accepting the difference of others, & flowing together as one unit. It’s an experience that can only be caught & not taught.

    KiDG

    July 7, 2009 at 9:49 am


Leave a Reply

